Independence Day

Today 16 years ago I walked out of a life that had broken and battered me so bad. It had stolen my identity, voice and soul. I hate looking back to it but today is a good day to glance back if only to say “Fuck you asshole, I can have a life without you and its so much better than anything you ever threw my way. The day I left I started a journey that has surpassed anything I could have ever imagined that day!

The abuse that I suffered for 28 years have left its scars and the few memories I do have of that time comes back as monsters that rip and tear through my body and mind and leave me some night in a crumpled mess but today is not the day to dwell on that.

I left the small town I had lived in and then left the island I had lived all my life and the rest of the story is beautiful 🙂

I met my now husband online and right from day one we both knew we were meant to be together. We met in person 4 months after we met online and its now almost 16 years together.

I love him like I have never loved before and I feel a love from him that brings tears to my eyes just to think of. He is my best friend, lover, companion and safe place. He challenges me daily to be strong, brave, soft and loveable in the most peaceful and quiet way I have ever seen.

I’ve been to 27 states and lived in 5 of them and we are now back in Ontario Canada but the US will always be where I want to be because its there I had my first real home

9428-I-Am-So-Proud-Of-Me

 

 

So today I celebrate my freedom and the wonderful life I have now. I celebrate my braveness for walking away that day. I celebrate the strong woman I have become and I celebrate that I had the courage to let myself be loved and to allow myself to love. Happy Independence Day to me!!!!!

 

 

 

Cheers to me and the wonderful man that showed me what true unconditional love is all about!

 

untitledwine

Leave a Reply

